I Hate Republicans

I hate almost everything about them. I hate the way they talk, I hate the way they are stuck in the past, and I hate their inflexibility. They’re too religious, way too judgmental, and the world is passing them by. The fact is, their antiquated anti-homosexuality, pro-life, and pro-war views are alienating them from every single voter with the exception of extreme right-wing Bible Belt Americans.

The worst part about the Republican Party is that they’re the closest thing to the “live and let live” attitude I want from my government. I don’t want the government telling me what I can and cannot do to my body, what I can feed my child, and especially not which type of car I should be morally obligated to purchase (I shouldn’t have to apologize for my SUV).

I know I’m not the only one who feels this way, and yet the Republicans who are supposed to agree with me are too angry to listen. They  are busy thumping their Bibles, with one former representative even claiming that “legitimate rape” is totally preventable. I’m stuck sounding like a jerk when I say I’m a “conservative” because, right now, Conservative = Anti-Environment, Anti-99%, Neo-Nazi, Anti-Women, Racist, NRA-lover, etc. I never imagined feeling ashamed to admit I’m a member of the party. I’m no closer to “liberal” than I’ve ever been, but “Republican” has become a dirty word.

Please, Republicans, get your act together. Build a new platform with a moderate approach that focuses on the economy and let the crazy right-wingers start a new party. Right now, you’re looking like a bunch of old-fashioned jerks. I know that I’m sweeping all Republican politicians into the same category, but that’s the point. The Rush Limbaughs of the world are ruining it for the rest of us. Stop alienating every woman who wants to have a choice, and stop shaming same-sex couples. It’s not your place, it’s none of your business, and, if you want my vote, stay out of my bedroom and stick to the budget.

 

website-republican-elephant1

Also, if anyone mentions George Bush I will freak out. Not every single right-of-center voter has a Bush shrine in their home.

