Gays Have Been Around Longer Than Jesus

I don’t claim to be a Biblical expert of any kind. However, I do know one thing. The fact that being gay is even addressed in the Bible’s Old Testament means that same-sex relationships have been around for thousands of years. Basically, since the first reference of homosexuality is in Genesis, it appears that gays are older than Jesus.

Wait a minute…if men have been loving men and women have been loving women for two thousand years, why are we still shocked about it as a culture?

I’m serious. My train of thought on this subject has evolved over time—it all started when I wrote about gay rights as the topic for my college Common Application essay. Then, after graduating college and getting married, I became more and more curious about why being gay is still taboo. I knew that the “Christian Right” cited homosexuality as a sin, I started to wonder what the Bible actually said about it.

I found a few vague and a few specific verses, including the often-cited “You shall not lie with a male as with a woman; it is an abomination” (Leviticus 18:22). During my research, I also found ones that said “I permit no woman to teach or to have authority over a man; she is to keep silent” (1 Timothy 2:12) and “Slaves, submit yourselves to your masters with all respect, not only to the good and gentle but also to the cruel” (1 Peter 2:18).

If our views on other antiquated practices have (for the most part) evolved, why is homosexuality still such a hot-button issue? If we see the world through the same lens as we did 2,000 years ago, we would live in a world where slavery, child abuse, human sacrifice and polygamy are totally acceptable. Well, our outlook on the rest of those things has changed, but we’re still struggling to accept and love LGBT individuals.

I am not trying to speak for anyone, and I certainly don’t claim to understand what it feels like to be gay in our society, but I do want and believe that I have the right to speak as a future mom. I want my children to be able to come home and say “I’m in love” without worrying about whether their love is gay, straight, celebrated, different, accepted, or unwelcome. I can’t wait until we’re done differentiating between “gay marriage” and “regular marriage” and between “same-sex couples” and “hetero couples.”

Once we’re all just people, people who have loved each other in different ways for over two thousand years, we’ll all be a whole lot happier.

 

St. John’s Anglican Church, Niagara Falls, Ontario, Canada

St. John’s Anglican Church, Niagara Falls, Ontario, Canada

